Bliss Uncovered by Tony J. Forder – Book Review


The bestselling author of the stunning DI Bliss crime series is back – this time with a thrilling prequel novella.

A double life – a single truth.

Fresh out of uniform, DC Jimmy Bliss finds himself at the centre of an undercover sting. Enlisted by a crew of villains to crack a safe, he fears his cover is blown when he’s seen in the wrong place at the wrong time.

But on the night of the job, things run smoothly enough until the gang leader changes the location of the heist. As the job spirals out of control, Bliss has to trust his instincts and buy some time. There’s just one problem: he has no idea if his team know what has become of him.

As the situation escalates, Bliss finds himself at the mercy of a violent criminal who will do anything not to be caught.


This is #8 in the DI Bliss series, it is a prequel novella and can be read as a stand-alone.

Bliss Uncovered is a flashback to Bliss’ early career in the Police. It’s 1991 and DC Bliss has joined CID, he hopes this change will help him build a life with Hazel his girlfriend and in his eyes the perfect woman.

He starts working undercover and becomes part of a gang planning a ‘job’, he’s also working his normal cases as a DC. 

This novella really builds the background to Bliss and how he has grown into the man he now is, stubborn, tenacious and dogged in his determination to get to the truth.

Tony J Forder has created a fantastic, well rounded character in Bliss and I loved this look into his early career days. It is also a twisty nail biter of a thriller, that adds more depth to this marvellous character. Such a great addition to one of my favourite series.

Thank you to BOTBS for the opportunity to be part of this blog tour, for the promotional material and an eARC of Bliss Uncovered.


Tony J Forder is the author of the bestselling DI Bliss crime thriller series. The first seven books, Bad to the Bone, The Scent of Guilt, If Fear Wins, The Reach of Shadows, The Death of Justice, Endless Silent Scream, and Slow Slicing, will be joined in December 2020 by a prequel novella, Bliss Uncovered.

Tony’s other series – two action-adventure novels featuring Mike Lynch – comprises both Scream Blue Murder, and Cold Winter Sun.

In addition, Tony has written two standalone novels: a dark, psychological crime thriller, Degrees of Darkness, and a suspense thriller set in California, called Fifteen Coffins, released in November 2020.

Tony lives with his wife in Peterborough, UK, and is now a full-time author. He is currently working on Bliss #8, The Autumn Tree.




Twitter: @TonyJForder

Amazon Author:


Fantastic Fiction:

Tony can also be found on Instagram.


One response to “Bliss Uncovered by Tony J. Forder – Book Review”

  1. Thanks so much for being part of the blog tour today Lesley x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: